Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
'14 CB1100A first ride and some questions
Banned Offline
Banned

earth
'14 CB1100A first ride and some questions
The skies finally parted and I was finally able to take out my new to me '14 CB1100A for its first ride, albeit a short one at just under 200km.

First, before giving my impressions I must preface them by adding that although I have been riding for 31 years and have logged about 250,000km in the saddle, most of that has been on V-Twin cruisers (28 years). Also, when I find something I like I tend to keep it so I haven't owned that many street bikes - '83 CM450E, '82 CB900C, '84 Virgo 1000, '00 Sabre 1100, '03 HD Night Train - so I don't have the wealth of experience of owning 50 different bikes to compare to like some on here.

What can I say about the overall package (ride and presentation) - simply amazing!!! I loved it.

Aesthetics - the bike is absolutely stunning to look at and I honestly can't think of anything that "needs" to be changed. I specifically wanted a 2014 model because I didn't want the blacked out 2016 (I still have my Night Train) and i don't like the spoke wheels, seat or 4 - 2 exhaust on the 2017. Sometimes I think I would like a red one but run into the garage and look at the Spencer Blue, soooo nice. If I were to nit pick, the mirrors seem a little too retro but work good so good enough. Maybe the fork lowers could be powder coated, and the tail light assembly is just strange but none of those things really bother me.

Ergonomics - I bought this bike as a back injury and surgery has made the seating position on my Night Train very painful. The upright position on the CB1100 is almost perfect for my 6'2" 230lb frame, I could use about 1" more leg room but close enough.

Seat - the stock seat looks good (far better than the new 2017 in my opinion) and is reasonably comfortable for what I will use the bike for - short trips on the back roads.