Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Motorcycle-Only Garage
Cormanus Offline

Queensland, Australia
RE: Motorcycle-Only Garage
(05-31-2017 06:12 PM)Stichill Wrote:  Cormanus I was wondering if you were talking about some kind of locally-hewn timber as is done with barns? I think around here that is mostly oak sawn on site from locally felled trees.
I wasn't necessarily think of that unless it would be an easy and relatively inexpensive option. Any timber that will survive the weather without paint would do. I agree with Nortoon. I'd have thought oak would have been expensive. I also have no idea how weather proof it is. I fear I'm no expert.
05-31-2017 09:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Guaza14 Offline
1st Service Completed

California
Don’t forget to coat the ends of treated lumber when cutting to size for best results. A ceiling fan is also nice.
06-01-2017 07:59 PM
ClassicVW Offline
High Mileage

New Jersey, USA
I dislike vinyl siding for the same reasons you stated Stichill. My house is aluminum sided, but I don't think you can even get it any longer. My house is brown, and when I extended my kitchen out the rear, brown was no longer available. We had to purchase white and have an auto body shop paint it! It was a cuss to even find the white.

What about engineered wood siding? Handles heat and cold better than wood so it won't warp, is termite and insect resistant, waterproof, and it's a green product since most of the contents are recycled.

--George
[i]"The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day that you find out why" [/i]-- Mark Twain
06-02-2017 05:01 AM
Razor Offline
Running Like a Top

Lawton, Michigan
Some suggestions.
- think about utilities (water, computer, phone, sewer)
- rough in the plumbing for a bathroom. Doesn't cost much, and you've got if you want it in the future.
- have plastic sheathing installed before they pour the floor. Keeps moisture from coming up.